How do I message leavers?

Once the pupils have been marked as leavers in your MIS and an import has been run in Schoolcomms, the leavers will no longer show in any MIS Groups.

You can however still search the pupils individually to add to the recipients list (as long as they haven't been deleted as a leaver in Schoolcomms, if they have been deleted as a leaver in Schoolcomms you will be unable to message them via Schoolcomms).

You can also manually create a Leavers group in Schoolcomms to use to message them if you are going to need to message them more than once.
Once you've created the group you can add and remove members as necessary.

Create a group in Schoolcomms via the Web version

Go to:

  • Dashboard
  • Management
  • Add group

  • Enter a group name and the members to your group. Click Save
  • Your group will appear in your School groups list.

Edit/Delete an Existing Group

Any group that has been created in Schoolcomms can be edited or deleted under school groups.

Select the group you wish to edit/delete and click Edit to change the group or Delete to remove the group permanently from Schoolcomms.

If you want to amend group membership, this can only be done for manually created groups.

SIMS group membership needs to be amended within SIMS.

Amending manually created groups

  • Dashboard
  • Click on School Groups
  • Search the group that you want to amend membership for 
  • Click on Edit
  • Either add members from the left column to the right by selecting and clicking Add to group, or remove members by selecting them from the right and clicking on the x to Remove from group and when you're done, click Save

To use the group for messaging or payment requests, simply select the group in the select recipients screen as you would normally.

To create a group on the web version see here

Edit/Delete an Existing Group

Any group that has been created in Schoolcomms can be edited or deleted under school groups.
Select the group you wish to edit/delete and click Edit to change the group or Delete to remove the group permanently from Schoolcomms.