How do I manage students/leavers?

For any changes made to students or class groups in your MIS Depending on when these changes are imported into Schoolcomms, pupils and class groups will update in Cypad after the next data sync:School members – 6am, 11am, 3pm, and 6pm each day.

Due to how your Cypad account is configured, your student/staff data is obtained directly from Schoolcomms. Although these students are showing as leavers in Schoolcomms (based on the leaving dates entered in your MIS), as they have not been deleted from Schoolcomms, they are still being passed to Cypad as 'Open' students.In order for them to no longer be passed to Cypad (at which point they should change to 'Closed' on Cypad), you will need to follow the deleting leavers process in Schoolcomms. 

When should I delete leavers from Schoolcomms?

If a school member has left the school, they will be marked as a leaver the next time the import is run.

Once you have saved any information/messages relating to these members, and you are certain that no payments or club bookings will need to be made by the parent(s), you can remove them from Schoolcomms using the delete leavers process.

WARNING

Deleting your leavers will permanently remove them from Schoolcomms

You will no longer be able to send messages to them and any association to your school will be removed from their School Gateway account.

Before deleting your leavers, ensure you have saved any information/messages relating to them and performed any manual transactions/refunds as there will no way of recovering them once deleted from Schoolcomms.

Any personal information which cannot be removed will be anonymised in 14 days, which will show as XXXX in your Schoolcomms reports.

Should you wish to extend the anonymised period, please click here.

How do I delete a leaver from Schoolcomms?

To delete leavers in Schoolcomms, click Management > Import Management

You will see Delete Leavers, select this option and highlight the members you want to delete in the left-hand box and select Add. 

Now click OK to confirm the members for deletion.

NOTE  Deleting your leavers will permanently remove them from Schoolcomms. You will no longer be able to send messages to them and any association to your school will be removed from their School Gateway account. Before deleting your leavers, ensure you have saved any information/messages relating to them and performed any manual transactions/refunds as there will no way of recovering them once deleted from Schoolcomms. Any personal information which cannot be removed will be anonymised in 14 days, which will show as XXXX in your Schoolcomms report.

Should you wish to extend the anonymised period, please click here 

NOTE  When the delete leavers process is followed and you receive the success message, the leavers will be queued for deletion from our database, so you may continue to see members who are in the process of being deleted for a short period of time until they are removed (this timescale will depend on the number of leavers being deleted).